Net-Moto :: Community :: Racing :: :: Racing Videos Sponsor :: Contact
 Forums   Features   Trackdays   Moto Crash Incidents   Race Team   CMSP Training   Sponsors      Donate   Terms of Service 
BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum  Home   UserCP   Register   Calendar   Members   FAQ   Search  AMA

Go Back   BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum > Classifieds > Moto Wanted

Old 11-13-2018, 10:28 AM   #1
Angelneji

Motorcycles: Newbie looking for first bike
Name:
Looking for a budget starter motorcycle

Hi all,
Looking to buy my first motorcycle. PM and I will consider all offers for sale within these considerations:
- bike has to be reliable as it will be used for daily commute (about 80 miles round trip).
- I have a limited budget and ideally I would like to pay less than 2k.
- I will still consider anything between 2 and 3 k.
- I have zero experience with motorcycle so I kindly ask that you be patient with me while I consider buying your motorcycle.
- I live in Sacramento so anything within 1 hour drive is ideal for me but will consider longer distance.
- I hope to buy a motorcycle within the next 2 or 3 weeks as I start commuting by early December.
Thank you all
Angelneji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:42 AM   #2
dravnx
Veteran

AMA #3018349
Contributor +++++++
Barf Roadside Angel

Motorcycles: '12 DL650A '15 FJR1300A
Name: Jeff
You may want to adjust your timeline a bit. If your commute involves lane splitting, you should get a few months of riding under your belt. Don't underestimate how dangerous lane splitting can be.
It's simple math.
https://www.directavionics.com/
dravnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 11:24 AM   #3
Mario
Veteran

Motorcycles: KTM/Triumph/GSXR
Name: Mario
^^^ What he said!!! But I'd add more than a few months practice. You need to learn to master the front brake for emergency stops, you will need that when someone cuts in front of you while you split.