Net-Moto :: Community :: Racing :: :: Racing Videos Sponsor :: Contact
 Forums   Features   Trackdays   Moto Crash Incidents   Race Team   CMSP Training   Sponsors      Donate   Terms of Service 
BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum  Home   UserCP   Register   Calendar   Members   FAQ   Search  AMA

Go Back   BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum > Moto > The Garage

Old 01-06-2019, 02:47 PM   #1
guitaardvark

Motorcycles: KLR650
Name:
Would a 2002 Honda Shadow 750 ACE make a good project bike?

Hey all,

So my friend's brother has a Shadow 750 ACE that's been sitting for about two years in his garage since it went down. He claims that it needs new handlebars/risers, a new clutch assembly, and some wear items like a front tire, chain, and sprocket. It'll also need some other general stuff like oil, battery, etc. to get it roadworthy since it's been sitting so long.

I've heard Shadows are generally great bikes (if a bit slow, which I don't mind because I've been riding a KLR for almost two years now), and I really enjoyed a 600 that I test rode a few years back. As a project bike, I'd like some opinions.

-Are parts cheap/widely available?
-Are parts from other Shadows compatible with the ACE 750?
-Are they easy to work on?
-Do they have any known issues?

Assuming I can get it for very cheap, would it be a good buy?

Thanks guys!
guitaardvark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 03:41 PM   #2
davbib
Rookie

Motorcycles: A few
Name: Dave
I’d say ya, depending on what you want to do with it. What do you envision?
davbib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 05:09 PM   #3
Junkie
re-tarded

Contributor + 3%

Motorcycles: SV1000,WR450tards(03FS), YZ426tard,NC700X
Name: Daniel
Given that it's been sitting for 2 years it'll need a carb clean as well, possibly more. Wouldn't be a surprise if it needs fork seals as well.
Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 05:32 PM   #4
guitaardvark

Name:
Quote:
Originally Posted by davbib View Post