• There has been a recent cluster of spammers accessing BARFer accounts and posting spam. To safeguard your account, please consider changing your password. It would be even better to take the additional step of enabling 2 Factor Authentication (2FA) on your BARF account. Read more here.

opinions: husky sm450r VS sm510r

patra_is_here

Moto(s)
1966 BSA victor
I'm in the market for a SM and I love the huskys. now, at this point i am a beginner. I live about 20 minutes from laguna seca so practice days at the track are a realistic option. anyhow, when comparing the two bikes, they are identical cept the 510 has a longer stroke and 6 more HP.

so my question comes down to this, if i choose the 510 (which would be more fun on the street because of the extra HP) will I be completely in the way and unhappy at a track day for my class? the 450 would put me in a slower class (and as they say, driving a slow bike fast is better than driving a fast bike slow). I've raced on the track in racecars before with multiple classes tracking at the same time, but i don't really know what to expect from motorcycle track days, and was hoping from some direction and good advice from yall.

For trackdays or racing? You don't mentoin racing, so I'll just address trackday stuff.
There aren't different classes for different bikes at the big track trackdays - it's divided by skill levels/laptimes. Some of the kart tracks will run minis, then slow big bikes, then faster big bikes - but I'm not aware of any that would actually split up 450 from 500+cc bikes. I can't comment much on the two husky's, but if you fancy the 510 I'd go for that.

There is no class stucture based on displacement for moto trackdays on a big track. They break it up by: fast guys (A), guys who think they are fast (B) and clusterfuck of incompetent riders (C).

thanks guys. yeah i don't think i'll be racing competitively, just track days. I guess the 510 is the way to go in that case. that was easy.