BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum

Go Back   BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum > Moto > The Garage


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2020, 02:35 PM   #16
stangmx13
not Stan
 
stangmx13's Avatar
 
Contributor
BrotoGP

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Diego CA
Motorcycles: 04' 600RR, 09' 600RR, 15' R6
Name: Robert
Quote:
Originally Posted by dravnx View Post
What does it do better?
fewer pieces to lose. shorter pin which wont bend/break as easily. larger threads so they dont gall up. smaller tool as a whole. the whole thing is just easier to use, which likely translates into lasting longer.
__________________
BrotoGP Podcast and on Youtube
WERA #513 / AFM #513R / MotoAmerica #31
Follow me on IG @rwpierce13
Thanks to: RiderzLaw Vortex

Last edited by stangmx13; 07-21-2020 at 02:37 PM..
stangmx13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 02:43 PM   #17
cal scott
Wookie
 
cal scott's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: FOSTER CITY
Motorcycles: V-Strom DL650AL3
Name: Iain
I sprung for the Motion Pro PBR tool and don't regret it. Super easy to use in a nice compact package...

https://www.motionpro.com/product/08-0470

Breaks & rivets 520, 525, & 530 chains.
__________________
To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins,...
..we show them that the human spirit is still alive.
-- Point Break
cal scott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 02:59 PM   #18
Wolf
Veteran
 
Wolf's Avatar
 
Founding Member
Contributor

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose
Motorcycles: 2012 FZ8
Name: Patrick
Quote:
Originally Posted by dravnx View Post
The Cycle Gear Stockton set up works fine.
Picked one up yesterday. $49 on sale from $90.
Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 03:02 PM   #19
Wolf
Veteran
 
Wolf's Avatar
 
Founding Member
Contributor

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose
Motorcycles: 2012 FZ8
Name: Patrick
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkness! View Post
Wolf / Patrick. If you need to replace your chain, you likely need to replace your sprockets too.....
On the way; +3 rear



Already have an angle grinder, just gotta get a long extension cord to bring power from my apt to the garage.

Last edited by Wolf; 07-21-2020 at 03:04 PM..
Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 03:04 PM   #20
Wolf
Veteran
 
Wolf's Avatar
 
Founding Member
Contributor

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose
Motorcycles: 2012 FZ8
Name: Patrick
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haket View Post
You're welcome to borrow mine (RK) . South SJ.
thank you
Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 04:38 PM   #21
JimE
Rider
 
AMA #: 3188342
Contributor + + + 5%

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 95018
Motorcycles: '06 S2R1k, '11 R1200GS, '09 F800GS, 19 350 EXC-F
Name: Jim
Another vote for the Motion Pro PBR. You don't have to grind the heads off but it's nicer to the tool if you do. It's pretty stout and way better than the other one they sell.

Your welcome to arrange a time and do it at my home shop. I live in Felton though. Might be tempted to ride the local hills after....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 11:32 AM   #22
Wolf
Veteran
 
Wolf's Avatar
 
Founding Member
Contributor

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose
Motorcycles: 2012 FZ8
Name: Patrick
Finally got it all buttoned up yesterday.

Using the chain tool was definitely a learning experience (after grinding the rivet heads, I couldn't tell where the pins were to press out. Then ended up flaring the new rivet too much and having to buy a new master link. And knocked off the valve stem with a piece of wood while tightening my front sprocket...)

But did the first ride on the hill this morning and DAMN. Unbelievably smooth and accelerates like a champ. And the speedo is about 10mph fast now, so there's an ego boost too.

Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 04:19 PM   #23
EarlyApex
Veteran
 
EarlyApex's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Marin
Motorcycles: FZ-09
Name:
Hopefully you adjusted the chain slack to spec after that pic was taken!
EarlyApex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 07:18 PM   #24
Tom G
"The Deer Hunter"
 
Tom G's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Jose
Motorcycles: BMW R1200GSA
Name: Tom
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarlyApex View Post
Hopefully you adjusted the chain slack to spec after that pic was taken!
I hope so too. And it looks like the chain was not yet connected when the picture was taken, look at 3o'clock of the rear sprocket
Tom G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 05:32 AM   #25
Wolf
Veteran
 
Wolf's Avatar
 
Founding Member
Contributor

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose
Motorcycles: 2012 FZ8
Name: Patrick
Yup, that was in 'in-progress' pic (front sprocket nut isn't threaded on either), waiting for a new master link to arrive. Apparently master link specs are manufacturer-specific.... I had a JT Sprockets chain, but the extra master link I bought from SCC was a different brand and the pins were a larger diameter so they wouldn't fit. Had to order a new JT Sprocket link from Amazon.
Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.