Go Back   BARF - Bay Area Riders Forum > Moto > Moto Photos & Videos

Old 11-14-2011, 03:47 PM   #1
Tydive
Rides every day

Contributor ++

Motorcycles: '13 V-Strom 650
Name: Ty
Tornante Pt 1: The Alps Aug & Sept 2011

I was lucky enough to go to Italy for a month. One week of that was a conference in Asti, the excuse for the trip... I arrived a week early to rent a motorcycle before the conference. This thread will be about that trip, I also had a long 4 day trip after the conference where I got to play in the Dolomites.

I've been traveling all over California on my bike, riding 9,000 miles on the bike last year. I took the Alameda County Sheriff Civilian 1 day Motorcycle Course, basic and intermediate versions. I reviewed ride reports on a variety of web sites, BARF and ADV Rider being the main sources of safety and travel information (Thank you Kurt!). I studied the road signs and laws for Italy and Switzerland.

I was fortunate to get a Book by John Hermann, Motorcycle Journeys Through the Alps & beyond, 4th ed. It has many routes and suggested rides.

The best map was the Hallwag International Biker's Paradise MotoMap of Switzerland 1:275,000 scale (Picked it up at a Coop store (the Swiss and Italian version of a grocery chain). It has really good maps with numbered routes, each route has a card with detailed listing of passes and towns as well as rating them on a bunch of factors (twistyness, road condition, elevation gains...)

There were also local maps that I picked up along the way, in the Dolomites the hotels had favorite routes and maps. I strongly suggest 1:200,000 maps as well. 1:300k or bigger are just not fine enough to show the fun roads. Also, bring a GPS... I don't have one and spent quite a bit of time lost pulled over checking my iPhone.