• There has been a recent cluster of spammers accessing BARFer accounts and posting spam. To safeguard your account, please consider changing your password. It would be even better to take the additional step of enabling 2 Factor Authentication (2FA) on your BARF account. Read more here.

Noob Guy

ricehead76

Moto(s)
1997 CBR 600cc
Hi there.. I'm a noob. Just started to ride about a month ago. I started off with a 1997 CBR F3 after completting the CSM course. First time dropping it today. I was practicing 15mph turns at 30mph around burlingame hills. It's really close to my apartment. I hit one of yellow round things on the center divider while turning.. lost balance, i freaked and tried to straighten my bike to stop. By the time i almost stop, my bike lost balance over some acorns and leaves on the edge of the road at about 10mph. I'm not injured and the bike is a little scraped up. My mistake was hitting the yellow thingys by practicing my turns and looking ahead. I took those dividers for granted by not being aware of how it can throw me off. Should i practice on those roads again? And did i do the right thing in trying to stop? Or with more balls, i should try to maintain my speed and tried to balance? Cause if i fell at faster speed maybe my jeans wouldn't protect me. Pretty sturdy BR jeans i tell you :). I'll still wear it on a date :)

:newbie

Slow down a little bit... you were obviously going too fast for your ability to handle the unexpected.

Your bike probably could have handled the situation -- like most crashes, the rider's capabilities are exceeded long before the bike's. I've gone dirt-tracking at 80+ miles an hour when I made an error at a trackday and went wide... sounds like falling on the acorns and leaves wouldn't have taken you down if there wasn't some panic involved.